Mike Rinder’s Open Letter To His Family

Today, Marty posted an open letter from sidekick Mike Rinder to his estranged wife and two kids, all of whom are still in the Church of Scientology. When I saw the title, my first thought was “There’s no way I can comment on this without looking like a total jerk.”

But then I read Mike’s letter – all 30+ paragraphs – and I can tell you that I have no problem commenting on it whatsoever.

I figured Mike’s letter would be an impassioned plea to get his family back. “I love you. I miss you. Let’s find a way to work this out so we can be a part of each other’s lives.” Isn’t that what you’d expect from a man who is separated from his wife and adult children by their religion?

Mike’s letter is nothing like that. All it is, is a long, rambling indictment of David Miscavige, an attempt to convinced his family – I was going to use the phrase “loved ones,” but I’m not sure that applies – that when it comes to Scientology and LRH, DM is wrong and he, Mike, is right.

This letter isn’t about the heartache of a husband separated from his family. It’s a salesman trying to turn his family against David Miscavige. Do a search and see for yourself: There are 21 references to DM and 15 references to LRH, but word “love” appears only once. In the signature.

I find this exceptionally sad, because it shows exactly what Scientology does to people: The love of family is replaced by the love of LRH. The Ol’ Fraud taught that “HE&R” – Human Emotion and Reaction – are bad things, and clearly LRH’s teachings have bleached Mike of any love or emotion he may have had.

To me, this letter is sad, sad proof that things aren’t going to change if Marty and Mike take over the Church.

If my father or spouse sent me a letter like this, I’d be heartbroken… but maybe that’s because I’m not a Scientologist.

Read the full letter here.

ML,
Caliwog

Leave a comment